The Lure Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
AnyfishAnywhere plugging rod Got the chance to (quick) view one last weekend dark red colour and rated from 0-90 g thats some lure range, i was tempted in one but ive still got my eye on another blank, has anybody seen the afaw rod

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
I've got the AFAW Lure & Bait (same sort of rating). It's just about the last rod in the world that i would ever use for lure fishing, but is lovely as a light surf rod.

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
Haven't seen one, Mark but how can it be 0-90g? I am no expert but that doesn't suggest it is a rod that I would want to use for bassing. I know that their stuff has a generally sound reputation...

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
This is a totally new rod nice looking bit of kit , and thats what it says on the blank and what j shambrook said 0-90g

·
Registered
357 Posts
I tested some of the prototypes with Steve Mullins and made relevant comments. Second prototypes came in and the plugging rod was truley aweful -- some of the rods labbled soft plastic rods would have made cheap hard lure rods.

Don't get me wrong I own 4 AFAW rods (Six and Bait for the Conger, Surf for heavy bassing, Eatuary for light bassing and a 30 to 60g lure and bait for ledgering for Mullet -- all great rods.

·
Registered
357 Posts
This is a totally new rod nice looking bit of kit , and thats what it says on the blank and what j shambrook said 0-90g
0 to 30g would be a push 0 to 90g is just not on.

Modern lure rods are fast becoming a use -- weight spacific. Unfortunatly, the UK are way befind the times. Although, Julian Shambook makes truly great bait rods (I own four).

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·