The Lure Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who's using them?.......and more to the point.....what have you done to the horrors' to get the things functioning effectively?

The little jointed horrors' have the VERY frequent habit of folding back on the cast/splashdown and the two mounted trebles' become entangled with each other. This occurs with alarming frequency and renders the lure ineffective.

1. Bin the front and put a larger treble on the back joint?

2. Two bigger trebles of your own fitted? (Will it work?).

3. Bin the jointed and go with the single body versions?

Answers please on a postcard etc etc.

;-)

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
I'd go for
3. Bin the jointed and go with the single body versions?
My experience of Pike (bearing in mind i am no expert), is that sometimes the simple plugs offer a better, cleaner hook-up. I was using the standard unjointed Jitterbug on Saturday, and whilst it induced a good few hits, i didn't feel that it was offering as clean a hook-up as some other plugs (for example, the Cormoran plug that accounted for 10 Crocs for Marc, and 3 or 4 for me & Luke).

If it's being a pain in the arse to use . . . . . bin it, and use something else. There's such a huge selection of effective plugs available, that i just wouldnt waste valuable fishing time with a lure that's a 'potch'.

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Think I will go with the bigger rear treble on it's own for now, whilst looking for one or two effective single bodies'......maybe my Sammy 115's might do the trick..........but your right.....I can smell' those jointed' heading for the hammer.......Now the Argobast JJ is "Supposed" to be a Classic' topwater Pike lure.......more like a classic pain in the A------ if you ask me....with that design problem how did folks manage.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts