The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am new to lure fishing being a bait angler for 30 odd years , and have seen some strange things in my time but a barbel on a soft plastic lure is as weird as it gets .
So my new sport is lure angling and after some joy on a local lake i thought that it was time to show my farther how good it is we fished the river Wye for pike i had 1 around 15lb and then a pb of 23lb(the one in my avatar)
whilst dad had nothing.
He had given up hope when his rod sprang round and braid shot from the reel this fish stripped 30 yards of line on its first run. the way it went i thought it must be a huge pike.
when i netted it i dont know who was most shocked me or the fish.

SAM_0321.JPG SAM_0323.JPG SAM_0333.JPG SAM_0326.JPG SAM_0334.JPG

oh yes and to top it off he also had this 30lb+ beast and i had one of 19lb

Attachments

·
Registered
129 Posts
Barble are commonly caught on lures in Eastern European countries, it is not unusual. Well done on the catches.

·
Banned
2,432 Posts
Big barbell have been taken on deadbaits,in fact I used to know someone that had seen this happen.
So having them hit lures is no surprise on the right day in the right spot.

·
Registered
2,394 Posts
Very nice fish! They catch them on lures in Spain apparently. Likely not the same species of barbel though.

·
Registered
2,889 Posts
I think it's brilliant and i'd love to get a Barbel on the lure.
Using the flowing techniques we have now I'd bet it could be done with regular frequency.

So pleased you posted this thread. Great stuff.

·
Banned
2,432 Posts
Letting a Senko tumble through the current on most rivers would be deadly for Chub,Perch and I'l bet the Barbel would like it too.
In my younger days I used to tumble slugs through the current on size 1 and 2 Jack Hilton hooks.