The Lure Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, Ive just joined this forum after being recomended by Mr Fish after I bought some lures and am finding it facinating with all the information on here. Ive been fishing since I was 8 years old but I am not a very experienced lure angler although I have dabbled every now and then over the years. I am learning new stuff all the time at the moment, so any advice will be most welcolme. p.s. Can anyone tell me if you use a leader with braid or do you tie it direct to your lure and if you tie it direct to the lure what is the easiest and best knot to use? cheers ray.

·
Registered
498 Posts
hi ray, welcome aboard, i use a uni to uni, not sure how to get links up but you can go on youtube and search it, think youre taking hard plastic if so i'd normally go 4ftish and use a jb clip (mr fish stock these and they'v never let me down) to attach lure, hope that helps

·
Registered
4,137 Posts
I agree with Carl. Just keep the leader knot outside the rod rings. If you get a "stuck" lure back after a heavy pull then I'd suggest changing your leader. All knots will have been stressed.

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
I agree with Carl. Just keep the leader knot outside the rod rings. If you get a "stuck" lure back after a heavy pull then I'd suggest changing your leader. All knots will have been stressed.
Really good advice that!

The amount of times I have heard a line go "Ping" with a nice fish on the end after someone or my self has had a bad snag and the look of total disbelief !

·
Registered
990 Posts
So many customers that come to me with a leader more than a meter long is about 95% which is no problem if you don't put that knot through the top eye when casting, I can't express how important that is! Like the guys above have said.
The knot is the weakest link and by rubbing it every cast is going to end in tears sooner or later and more often on a good fish.

·
Registered