The Lure Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
I've never tried fly fishing in my life but I find it a very attractive techique, sure it must be difficult but I've wanted to try it for ages and finally I have a change.

A friend of mine lent me a rubbish rod (8 feet) for 6 weight line from the Powee? brand, and a rubbish reel from Plaway (for 6-7 line).

I've bought a spool of Scientific Anglers Aerocell floating #6 WF line and a bunch of flies that imitate a bread crumb.
I know that to the most of you guys this flies must suck, but for a beginner like me, I have to learn to cast first hehe

There are loads of mullets in the docks and avenue in my home city and I want to try to catch one of them with the fly gear, just to feel the fight on a fly tackle.

What's the best way to get them with the bread crumb flies? Throw some bread first into the water?

I appreciate your answers and help, and remember I'm just a beginner that wants to feel it's first fish on fly tackle ^^

Regards!

·
Registered
346 Posts
First thing to do is make a reservation in a crazy house.
Also mullet fishing can be very expensive if somebody with a swear box is standing anywhere near you.
finallly be prepared to be out smarted by a fish.

Good luck ;-)

·
Registered
3,855 Posts
Hmmm first step for me fly fishing was casting lessons - bit harder over in Portugal!

its worth learning the basics on grass or on the beach first - I am guessing the mullet can be fairly close and roll casted too?

couple of sites worth visiting for learning to cast;
http://www.sexyloops.com/
http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_1663_fly-fish.html

I guess it would be worth groundbaiting with bread / water mix then introduce little bits of bread the same size as the fly ... happy hunting!

·
Registered
156 Posts
Hi Pedro,
i have caught alot of mullet on the fly and yep you are right , the fight is something else!