The Lure Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, just a quickie. Over the weekend, at a couple of different venues, I was deadsticking a soft plastic sandeel and giving it the odd shake/lift every couple of minutes. Both times I had some good strong bites which I allowed to continue for a few seconds before striking.

The question is, did I strike too early (or late)?, or could it be because the hook on the jighead was maybe too large (2/0). The sandeel came back with large toothy scrapes by the hook point, so I presume it was wrasse.

Thanks for any replies

Gary

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
Hey Gary. That seems to happen a fair bit with wrasse mate. I've had X-layers biten in half when dead sticking for wrasse! Trick is keeping a tight line and once you've felt that first tap get ready and on the second, strike. I think though (i'm no expert) but wrasse aren't always attacking your softies to feed. So you wont hook up every time...

·
Registered
2,889 Posts
I've had alot of triple bites as in ....

1 (attacks lure, normally the tail end)

2 (Turns it )

3 ( Rejection )

We try to strike on 2 but it doesn't always work.

On Sunday, Paul B identified that the Wrasse were giving bold, strong, single strikes at the lure. That requires being so 'in the zone' it's unreal.

Glad you are trying this stuff Gary and yes, likely Wrasse. You might get a good un so hold on eh.

·
Registered
6,673 Posts
Could do with a long shank narrow gape strong hook on a jighead really. Long shank to get the hook point a good way down the body of the bait to hopefully hook a few more of those hits, but the narrow gape so as to not just go OTT for the Wrasse etc, which do actually have pretty small mouths.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
has it made a decent difference Ritchie? I haven't tested them yet so can't say too much but I have some very decent looking stinger 'type' rigs.

·
Registered
6,673 Posts