The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
1,114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the market for a new fishing jacket and I'm just wondering if anyone would recommend looking at any ones in particular or more to the point any to steer clear of.

I've been using a North Face jacket for the past two years or so and whilst it kept the water out generally speaking it hasn't faired particularly well and has frayed pretty badly especially around the cuffs and neck. I still use it and it still works ok but the thing that bugs me about it is the lack any sort of storm cuff. I was looking at a Greys jacket recently, it was either the G Series or the Gxri, tbh I can't remember but it looked decent enough but I was wondering just how waterproof they are?

At the moment I'm just trying to figure out if I'm better off going for a 'Fishing Jacket' or an 'Outdoor Jacket' if you know what I mean ad I'd really appreciate any suggestions or advice.

Thanks

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
I researched this to death back earlier in the year. I am incredibly unimpressed with my Greys Grxi wading jacket. It's pants in very wet conditions (rain & the odd wave). It takes water on-board to become very heavy, and the hand-warmer pockets hold a puddle of water which is pretty unpleasant.

I looked at cags (see this thread http://www.thelureforum.com/showthread.php?t=697 ), but in the end i went for a sailing jacket . . . http://www.tidalrange.co.uk/product...d=142&osCsid=eba5400d585adf38614a43f7fe34e467 (better pic of the hood here . . . http://www.sailingclothingstore.co....medium=GoogleShopping&utm_campaign=googlebase ).

It seals up around the waist, sleeves & neck, meaning that i stay dry in wild conditions. I only picked it up at the start of the season, so havent tested it extensively yet, but so far, so good.

·
Registered
2,047 Posts