The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
3,239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have any experience of using float tubes?

I don't want to fish from one (although I guess I could if all goes well), what i want is a means of getting across a 100 yard stretch of water so I can fish from the shore from the other side. Would I be able to wear regular fishing gear (chest waders, jacket,) etc and not get wet or do I need a wet/dry suit?

I don't want the hassle of a rigid boat or an inflatable dinghy, just something I can keep in the car and use from time to time when conditions allow.

·
Registered
372 Posts
Adrian, I have been using a float tube on a trout lake for several years now and they are great fun to fish from. They are designed to be used with chest waders, so you will be able to wear all your usual plugging gear + a pair of flippers.

I have the one below which you sit very high in so only your shins get wet, but others are a lower ride. I used to have a normal dougnut ring type before I won that one at a comp, and for £40 including flippers for tacklebargains it did the job exceptionally well. One thing that would be useful for the prupose you are intending is a set of shoulder straps for carrying down to the marks. My first one didn't have those.

http://www.fishermanstacklecompany....on&mid=MM12&xm=1&tp=1&smp=1&cid=1&ref=FROOGLE

We have not taken them out in the salty stuff yet, but I'm sure at some point they will get an outing.

·
Registered
3,239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)