The Lure Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok. I need to make the lure forum ruler smaller to fit in my bag for those trips out across the rocks etc. Almost lost it a few times so feel like breaking it to mend it as it were.

I know naff all about this sort of thing but when I get an idea that's that... i am no professional bodger that's for sure!!

the ruler is 50mm wide and 3mm thick.

two ideas, please comment guys.

1. Hinged with standard hinge

Hinge.jpg

Will need to cut the ruler, the cut section being the same width as the hingy bit what sticks out so it is the same length when fitted with the hinge. Should fold flat, might have to get the dremmel out and skim the plastic down so the flappy bits of the hinge lay flat.

Comments??

2. Homemade Hinge...

Hmm, well just an idea but more flexible...

• Cut the ruler with as thin a cut as possible.
  • Get some nylon webbing straps (like they use to tie things to roof racks, the 2 inch wide stuff like bag handles are made of whetever that's called)
  • Stick the straps with epoxy or something similar to the back of the rules with the cut tight together, maybe a couple of countesunk very short screws as well. One hinge!!
am I an idiot??

£15 for a new one when I mess it up then!!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,857 Posts
I think this will need the Administrators blessing as some people could slightly extend it with the modifications (no slight on your honourable name Andy!) BUT.... Shaun Austen had a spanking idea for a ruler that he explained to Mike Hayes and Nathan Taylor. If it could be done then it would solve the storage issue. The current ruler is a pain in the *rse to carry.

Reactions: Shaun Austin

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Agree totally Andrew. Planned to take a pic post mods against another ruler of some sort. I simply don't carry it at the moment as my bag is too small which is an issue if the wrasse comp is on length.