The Lure Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

A friend has invited me to a well known pike venue in Ireland (Lough Derg) sometime in the next week or two just waiting to hear what days suit him. Im a complete novice to pike fishing and have only ever caught jacks on big copper spoons in canals.

As he is a salmon fishermen wer both a bit out of our depth when it comes to pike. I take it that my bass lures will work effectively for the pike?

So any tips/advice, its a big lake but we have a boat and engine, am I right in thinking we should be fishing shallow reedy areas. Any advice on lures, watercraft etc would be much appreciated.

James.

·
Premium Member
6,081 Posts
Hi James,

I have caught Pike on Surface lures (Z-Claw, Super Spook & Patchinko) Sub Surface (Feed Shallow & Rudra) so the answer to your first question is yes your Bass lures will catch Pike :p I have only fished from a boat for Pike once and caught 3 on SP's, so all manner of lures will work :-D There are many good Pike anglers on this forum so I am sure you will get plenty of replies, you have so many options fishing from the boat I hope you do well :p:p

Reactions: jbarry

·
Registered
150 Posts
had great fun on monday with my bass rod taking six pike to 19.2 on lures at chew valley fantastic day new pb and to have it on a lure on my new tecklon as well made it even more enjoyable the little rod had no trouble handling big crocs loved it

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cheers for the replies lads, heading up there early next week for a day on the boat then going to have a ramble along the shore myself. Any particular features I should be looking for?

Also nice fishing Colin and well done on the pb what lures worked best for you?

James

·
Registered
6,632 Posts
JBarry,