The Lure Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still very new to this game and read all I can on here about different methods that people are using. Different types of hard plastic for different times of year, different depths etc and most of what I read makes perfect sense. The same sort of discussions ref SP's - again pretty logical.

It seems to me that each method has its place.

But, what I can't seem to get my head round is what drives the decision making between using hard and soft lures?

What criteria do people use if they are fishing: 1- a new mark 2: an old mark to decide which method is likely to be most effective? (Or is it all down to trial and error??)

From a duffers point of view what makes a good 'HP' mark and what makes a good 'SP' mark?

p.s. - there may already be threads on this so any links or pointers would be great - cheers.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Really good question I reckon Greg! Requires a bit of a long answer though I reckon so may drop something on later when I'm not supposed to be working ;-)

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
It is a good question Greg. One mark I fished regularly last year responded well to hard and soft lures but I used hard lures much more. This is I think down to my lack of experience with SPs and reduced success compared to hard lures. Also, when it was breezy or rough I always felt I could cover more ground with a hard lure. Many times my lad George used SPs and caught just as much as me, which goes to show it isn't always the conditions, more confidence. I'm keen to hear from those who use SPs much more than me so I can have a wider range of options.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts