The Lure Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
This a question for those with more experience of using soft plastics than me (which means ALOT of the members)
I am looking for a jighead to fish a standard sized X-Slayer, it will be used while wading, so in a max of 4' of water, I am aiming to hop this lure along the bottom, using the current to move it along. Now I have little experience of fishing soft plastics. So please bear that in mind.
What size/weight jighead would you reconmend???

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
I can't imagine you needing more than 5g in 4 foot of water Dave (unless it's really windy of the water is bombing through). Depends a lot on the current though I'd imagine. I'm sure you probably already have an idea of how quickly you'd like it to be moving through, so almost the only thing you can do is take a few with you (along with plain hooks) and play around? Jighead wise, I'd prefer fish a round headed one. If possible though and then plan is to drift it, maybe just a weighted or even unweighted hook would be more successful? Basically, just use the minimum you can - while still maintaining contact. If you're really inexperienced then it may be safer starting a few grams above what will eventually become your ideal, but do go as low as you dare. Depends in the water current, swell, wind, bottom structure.... lots of things really. You'll soon work out what you can and can't do when you're out there though. If you can't feel it - go a touch heavier until you can. If you can feel it but keep snagging bottom, go lighter. Depending on wind and current though, the ideal is likely to be closer to unweighted than weighted - in 4 feet of water. Loads more variable too really (wind direction etc.) when you get in to it.

·
TLF Admin
7,123 Posts