The Lure Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all...
I'm kinda new to plugging and new on here but have been fly fishing and spinning for a while . . . I started plugging last year and i'm twitching to get busy this year !!. . . . I've posted on wsf and had some fantastic advice from some really helpful guys and was advised to inquire on here as you guys are the bees !!! (hoping flattery will get me some good feedback !). I've noticed a few names on here that are also on there. Thanks for your remarks so far, I just thought I might get a few different responses on here...

If I may, i'll let you know what i'm using which will hopefully help with advice . . I have a :

... Berkley Skeletor 10ft spinning rod 8-32g used for soft baits/live eel, and a

... Snowbee 4 section 9ft Deep Blue Spinning rod 20 - 50g (basically a travel rod) which I use for plugging and 20-30g poppers
(haven't caught with popper, only tried a few times !)

So, I suppose my question is this, will I notice much difference using a Tenryu Red Luck Super Distance or maybe a Supermix 240, or a Rod Bar ? Either of which I would like to use for plugging, softbaits and light popping. . . .

Thanks very much in advance or your time and advice, very greatly appreciated. . .

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
Hi there Jerry !! As a starter for 10, if you want to use soft-baits as you've indicated, then you probably don't want the Rod Bar, as it won't provide the sensitivity you require. The Supermix will (i bought one recently, and used it with s/p's last weekend, and it was lovely). I don't know much about the Red Luck, but from memory it's longer than the Supermix, so may not be as nice on the s/p's ?

Anyway, hopefully that helps.

·
Registered
2,047 Posts