The Lure Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While the slightly more complicated "Tour" is one thing to get people introduced and fishing with eachother, should we introduce something a lot simpler - with the single aim of introducing anglers to eachother? Almost like a teach-in/love-in/plug-in?! A series of organised meeting days around the country? Some of these may be very small and they could rely totally on the anglers in that area sorting themselves out, but if 'meeting days' were advertised (on forums and in shops) would people actually go along? A chance for total beginners to perhaps meet more experienced anglers in their area? A chance for all to compare notes and laugh at the seriousness of everyday forum politics? A chance to catch fish in the company of others?

I mean this in the widest of 'bumbling' senses - more widely advertised and prepared meeting places for bumbles....?

There'd be no prizes, no points, no overnight hotels required, no entry costs, no expense... Just local lure anglers getting to meet eachother and go fishing! Think about it, there must be lots of anglers in your area that you never talk to, meet, or probably even see. I know that they exist around me, but I never, ever see them! No matter what your ability, would people do it?

What would be required at such a thing to make people go along? A 'pro' to give free advise? A tackle display (PROPER lure fishing stuff!)? 6 hours fishing (max!) followed by a guarenteed pint with some new friends in the local drinking hole?

The likelyhood of getting reports and pictures of days like this in to magazines would be very high - and this can only help in getting the joys of lure fishing out there a little bit further?! Smiley faces, shiney bass, one short rod and a tiny rucksack...give the bait fishermen something to think about?

·
Registered
362 Posts
Re: Member introductions?

Something we can no doubt trial next weekend Ben?