My local rough ground | Lure Anglers Forum - Lure Fishing Forum UK (Bass, wrasse..)
Forum Supporting Contributions Upgrade Here

My local rough ground

Discussion in 'The Learning Zone' started by {name}, Jan 31, 2017.

1. Sprat

Hello. I'm a bass fishing beginner (as in I've never caught one before) so I thought I'd put a pic up of part of an area I'm planning on starting to fish for bass this year and hopefully you lads can help me get started.

[​IMG]

The photo was taken at LW on a huge tide. Do you think this is the sort of areas I should be looking for? I know I need to try and hit the mark at low tide and fish it up as the sea floods in, what I'd like to know is when I'm working my way along the shore should I be trying to line up and fish along the the gulleys that point towards the cliffs? And if there's a kelp bed where the sea is starting to flood over it is it worth chucking a plug straight over the top and fishin over it or am I best to go either side of them and working round? Just one more question. How long should I give a spot before I move up to try the next bit.

Sorry for the extra long post. I'm trying to get as prepared as I can before I start fishing.

Any advice is always appreciated.

Andy

• Like Like x 4
  2. Striper

Looks like the same sort of ground I fish, Andy. If you're starting at low water I would fish the points, casting beyond and around the kelp fronds but also maybe drag some weedless gear through the kelp stalks. As the gulleys fill and you back up you'll obviously be fishing over the covered kelp fronds which would allow you to use very shallow divers or top-waters. Again, the weedless lures could be used in the kelp.