The Lure Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although ive been fishing for over 40 years in lake,river,and sea and can cast a fly line as well ,it isnt until the end of last season that i took up plugging for bass which i have found will often require the maximum distance you can get with your chosen lure and even with all those years of casting behind me i find that when going for distance with something like a large chugbug/mag popper that even though i feel i am doing the exact same action cast after cast after cast,i will have some casts where i nail it and the lure flies into the distance ,the next cast the lure gets a bit sideways after about 5yds and doesnt fly properly and results in losing 20yds of distance,and sometimes it goes totally out of shape and drops half distance. I read threads by some of the more experienced lure anglers and even they refer to some casts that they "really nail" so just wondered is there some magic formula to make more casts the "nailed" ones or do most people have a mixture of distances when casting the same lure? I realise that wind has an effect but i still get a mixture of distances on a calmish day. The lures i mentioned are not the most aerodynamic of lures but are a good weight and are the lures which work in this area. Is it just something you have to accept with these larger surface poppers and do you get a higher proportion of nailed casts with slimmer divers?
cheers Trev.

·
Registered
2,889 Posts
maximise your arc, get your drop length right for each lure and use the left hand to deliver the final rights to the cast.
Difference can be amazing. Accelerate all the way through the cast and then STOP !

·
Registered
3,285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
maximise your arc, get your drop length right for each lure and use the left hand to deliver the final rights to the cast.
Difference can be amazing. Accelerate all the way through the cast and then STOP !