Discussion Starter #1
I understand that shining a light onto the water during
night fishing is a no no,but is it possible to use a low lumen
torch with a red filter to cast a real low glow,just to help
see what's happening when needed?

·
Registered
2,889 Posts
We use light to change lures, new leaders etc and to move about.

Switch it OFF whilst fishing and never shine any light, red or otherwise out seaward.

It really matters.

If you arrive on a mark in daylight...
Leave the part destined for night fishing well alone until about 30 minutes after full darkness if the tide allows.

·
Registered
498 Posts
if you mean to change lures/ re rig etc keep the light away from the water at all times, im no expert but if you mean to SEE whats happening your missing the point, its all about feel and using your senses

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
if you mean to change lures/ re rig etc keep the light away from the water at all times, im no expert but if you mean to SEE whats happening your missing the point, its all about feel and using your senses
No Carl,I meant to keep a check on my surroundings.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what sort of surroundings are you fishing graham?
I'm hoping to be fishing off of spits and around estuary mouths,not the safest of
places in daylight and the shoreline in general.
I may well visit other trickier marks as well,just like to stay safe!!.

·
Registered
498 Posts
im with you now, its surprising how much your eyes adjust after lights out, im new to the rocks/tides at night but have found you can concentrate more in the dark less distractions, good luck anyway mate

·
Registered
540 Posts
I'm hoping to be fishing off of spits and around estuary mouths,not the safest of
places in daylight and the shoreline in general.
I may well visit other trickier marks as well,just like to stay safe!!.