The Lure Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've been ignoring the hard lures recently and lures all together to be honest, I've been taking a few of the lads fishing and lures are a no go as a beach caster just won't cut it, plus the word braid is a mystery to them. I've managed to get some "alone time" and as it’s been a while thought I'd get my surface lures and plugs together then hit a beach and get back into the swing of things.

It’s a bit windy here at the mo and I just wanted to check if my technique for a Patchinko was correct, as the wind made it a nightmare to see the lure behind the waves. What I do is a couple of short jerks/twitches then let the lure sit, what I was unsure of is how long to leave it and if you should do a number of jerks and winds then let it sit?

Just generally interested in how other use them, as I’m new to Patchinko's, but I'll be using them in future. Despite the wind, the things cast like a demon, managed to cast exactly where I wanted every time.

Sorry if this has been asked previously, I did have a look and couldn't see any previous posts.

Cheers!

Jay

·
Registered
2,796 Posts
Jay,
The Patchinko can be worked so many ways and thats the secret finding which way on the day works. Twitching is one of the many ways mate..It is ideal for walking the dog, can pop / spit if jerked, reeling in gently in calm conditions it lays a nice vee in the water, reeling it in reasonable fast can get it working just under the surface. My suggestion to you is to play with it as you are and try everything you can think of.. then the hard bit ...figuring out which if any of those techniques will get the fish interested......Hope that helps a little anyway..... If the sea conditions are too rough you might want to go sub surface as they tend to work better if it gets too bad...... :-D:-D:-D:-D

BTW nice avatar

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·