The Lure Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have it in my head to take a long weekend in late September - early October somewhere on the south coast (preferably with rocks). I wanted to come down to the Weymouth bash but I'm already booked for that weekend.

I have little experience of rock fishing (40 years ago off of the rocks by Ballintoy Harbour, NI) but I am as keen as the proverbial Colemans.

Pointers to somewhere with even a vague possibility of fish would be most welcome.

TTFN

Andy B

·
Registered
6,632 Posts
Andy, I had a very product session in the Purbeck area of Dorset in late September last year, Plenty of campsites locally. Although the walk ins to some of the marks can be a bit on the long side. Nothing wrong with hitting Weymouth/Portland that time of year, plus you should be able to get someone to fill you in on which makes were fishing the best during the Comp.
Alot depnds on the weather!!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Further to my original idea and question. I am prepared to drive with a max range of about 8hrs in the car. This I believe would get me to Salcombe from Norwich. Taking that travel time into account are there any other venues that might be worth a visit instead? I have looked on google earth and Salcombe certainly seems rocky. But is it fishable? Will I be casting off of a cliff edge?

I am trying to get as much info as I can so that I can make an informed decision on where to go. Any help as ever would be gratefully recieved.

Cheers,

Andy B

·
Registered
2,752 Posts
Hi Andy,