The Lure Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
CoFounder & Retired Admin
6,295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is a post I made on another thread, and I think it deserves its own thread. I realise sp fishing can be from 1g to what ever, but what is the best action to be looking for in a rod especially for the task?

"A very topical train of thought has arisen from this thread, and I have been wanting to start a thead on it for a while. Basically I get alot of phone calls every week from people wanting a sp rod, and they are asking me for my advice on whet they need. I am no expert on sp rods because

1) I havent been using sp's that long and am still struggling to know exactly hat it is I am supposed to be donig/feeling

2) I really dont know of a rod on the market that is marketed as a sp rod, well not one that covers the range that the general shore angler requires.

3) Some people like a fast action rod for sp work and some people (me) like a medium-fast action, almost parabolic, with loads of backbone but a sensetive tip a bit like a drop shot rod)

I am thinking there is probably two styles people like, maybe more if you take in fishing on the drop....?"

·
Registered
2,192 Posts
I too am no expert **** but my finding so far is a preference for a fast action rod with a soft tip but not necessarily a fast taper. Super mix is too tapered for me and I've said it before I reckon a cracking rod would be a rod bar (lower) and a super mix (upper). Just to note I tend not to use heavy SP's so I'm on the lighter lures mostly. Maybe something more parabolic would be suitable for heavier lures?

·
Registered
125 Posts
Haven't been using xlayers for long but have found that i've had more success using a fast action tip with 5 - 7g heads. I tried a medium at first. I still have a lot to learn though!

·
Registered
4,137 Posts