The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do people go about setting the drag? I've been told before to set so that it starts to slip just before the breaking strain of the line, but surely this will be too much under shock loading, ie when striking?

·
Registered
894 Posts
i'm not an expert but i set my drag till i can just comfortably pull line off with my hand, i have found that when a fish takes it is loose enough not to put the line under too much strain and also i have plenty of time to just tighten it up a little more when playing the fish HTH :)

Edit: Spelling

·
Registered
268 Posts
Hi I normally have a light to medium drag. Then use my finger on the spool to control the drag. You should not need to strike hard just lift in to the fish. If you brake off on the strike or slip the drag, your pulling the fishes head off its not needed.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
I don't actually worry too much about drag figures or the line's breaking strain. Because the hooks on the majority of lures we use aren't massive, if you set the drag too tight (especially with a more powerful rod), you will just pull hooks out and lose loads of fish. I set it so that if a fish runs medium-hard, it takes line. Almost regardless of whether I'm using 15lb or 35lb line, my drag tends to be set around the same level. It's not about preventing line breakage, but a lot more to do with preventing hook pulls. The more powerful the rod you use, the more likely hook pulls are. We rarely consider hook size and rod power or stiffness in lure fishing, but it's 100% relevant.

Reactions: Dr.Thomas k

·
Registered
323 Posts