The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i have been reading a lot of reports about people catching lots of bass/pollack with these, i was looking in my local tackle shop and noticed that xlayers are 18€ for 4 in shops here :shock: so being a complete novice when it comes to SP's can any tell me some cheaper alternatives to get me started? I have some Gulp Sandeels and redgills , so any other suggestions would be great, also how to fish tehm? With a jig-head i presume or is there other techniques.

Wilky

·
TLF Admin
7,123 Posts
A lot of folk use AGM for their SPs. I've also been using Camo-tackle just lately. Not forgetting Mrfish of course. Once you start looking you'll find there is a colossal ammount of them about!
The xlayers are blurdy pricey but they seem to be the 'go-to' lure when things are tough for many, me included.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Not only does it carry a fantastic variety to be a European vendor, but also it has been around for years and it is a totally safe place to shop from.

Alex, you really should take a look at the links in my tackle resources thread - the link for Camo-Tackle has been there since day one :mrgreen::mrgreen:

http://www.thelureforum.com/showthread.php?t=792&page=1

Reactions: Tim Murphy

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
I have had a lot of success with the big hammer swimbaits. Available from AGM, cheap as chips, the shad head style lead heads are also cheap. They come in about a million colours, had bass to 9-12, pollack to 4lb odd and rockies to 3-7 on them. £2.50 or so for a pack of 5 bodies I think it is and roughly the same for the leadheads off the top of my head. NOT expensive so youo don't get the worry about losing one or two and fish harder and closer to structure and hence catch more fish!!

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks guys great info as always, i have a friend in america at the mo il see if hes bringing stuff back first :)

·
Registered