The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
Forgive me for being a bit slow here but loking at the solunar charts, basically, they say the best times to fish are the new/full moon. I thought we all already knew that? Am I missing the point here? I have seen/heard a lot about it but seem to be mssing something. Could you explain in more detail what we should be looking for? Is it the exact times of day on the day of new/full moon we are looking at?

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hello Andy, I am still learning about this Solunar effect myself heres my twopence worth: There is more to it than NewMoon and Full Moon, you get a number of Solunar effects during a 24hr period; Moonrise,Moonset, Sunrise,Sunset, Moon transit and Sun transit. Moonrise and Moonset can be more important than dawn and dusk. Kevin mentioned superb fishing for a brief period in the middle of the day under bright sunshine this could have coincided with a Moonrise or indeed a moonset.This happened to me on three ocassions last year;frantic activity for about 45mins. Fishing is best before Moonrise and after Moonset and either side of Moon/suntransit, same applies to rise and set of sun. Hows that for a mouthful:geek:
Andy as I have said still trying to get a handle on it but would love to hear others opinions
regards
Bob

·
Registered
59 Posts
Solunar effects (Tidal force). I strongly believe in this. have a look at my blog because I've been recording this for 5 years now and there is defo something in it. It's a bit more than new/full moon scenerio though!

Basically here in Sussex solunar indexes from -4 to -8 are catching big time. In the summer months between May and August the solunar index is between -4 and -8 at night time (10pm-1am in May for example). However, this shifts as the year goes on and during Sept/Oct it occured around 6.00-9.00pm and in Nov/Dec in the afternoon.Most of my decent Bass have occurred during these times!