The Lure Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Following Keith et al's recent runs with the Carolina rig, I'm just copying this over from his '32' thread so that it doesn't get lost. Carolina rigs are something that the vast majority (including me) don't really consider very often... but we probably should!

Obviously I have no real practical experience, but fishing theory is fishing theory! ;-)

Ref: http://www.thelureforum.com/showthread.php?t=1920&p=33535

======================================

Its a static Carolina. Really simple. Just a small split shot up the line. Where though makes a difference. Usually, somewhere between 6 and 18". The fish don't take the weight of the jig and, you can fish much smaller lures whilst keeping casting weight reasonable. I took the pouting by, shot hitting bottom and then, the soft lure sinks real show. Just keep in contact, Bang ! fish on.

Slope Parallel Font Circle Diagram

We'll probably start to find (as you probably already have Keith) that a shorter distance (shot to hook) will be better when fish are really having it, and a longer distance will be necessary when they're not so 'on it'.

There is obviously a huge coarse fishing comparison here when fishing on the drop with light tackle (as you would on the pole), but for those that don't know, the closer to your hook the shot is positioned, the faster the bite will be registered*. If the fish are hungry then this will be a good thing, but if they're being a little more cautious then you might find you miss bites. By lengthening the distance between the shot and the hook you will be giving the fish more time to take the bait before the bite is registered - so hookups will be improved.

In brief:
  1. Longer distance for hard days when the fish are cautious.
  2. Shorter length when they're hungry.
  3. Anywhere in between.
If you are deep-hooking many fish then try shortening the length between shot and hook.