The Lure Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I confess to getting a tad fed up lately as the more experienced anglers seem to be catching but I wasn’t. I may have experience in other forms of fishing but I am new to bass fishing with lures. However, i study the tides, weather etc. I think about how and where the bass can feed, think about why I didn’t catch and what I could have done differently - 'think like a fish' but still not a lot was happening.

Having fished with Dave Irving a couple of times and found him very free with his knowledge and advice I pinged him a PM with a few questions about tides etc and needless to say I had a wealth of information sent back the same day.

Armed with some new confidence I ventured forth this morning at silly time. I would like to say I looked at the weather, water vis, bait in the water etc before i chose my lure but truth is I just put on what Dave has been catching on! Not scientific but if its good enough for him....! Within half hour the little patchinko was nicely nobbled almost at my feet and given the fight I thought he was bigger but most welcome and as fat as butter.

A little later I had another take at long range on the same patchinko and another bass of similar size was coming in. Having had the camera handy for the first one, I got clever and snapped him in the water for an 'action' shot, just as I held him there for a few more seconds he slipped the hook! I seem to have made an unwlcome habit of this lately and yet i have years of experience flyfishing with barbless hooks!

He would have gone back as his friend did earlier so I couldn’t care less! Two fish after several blank trips makes it worthwhile.

I have to thank Dave for his encouragement and advice - he is a true gent! And a thank you to Simon Lewis as I now know how to load photos!