The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I popped over to my local tackle shop ealier, and whilst having a waggle of the lure rods, notice a new one in the racks. It had a familiar look about it. I took some pics on my cam-phone - spot the Telkon . . . . .

Im no expert, but i'd say that they came out of the same factory. Believe it or not, i did weigh them, as the Blue one felt a tad heavier, and it indeed came in at around an ounce heavier (which presumably means a cheaper carbon ?).

Half the price of the Teklon.

Discuss . . . . . . . .

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Tis a bit of a shocker really. By all means tweak something out there to make it better (any self respecting rod manufacturing company should surely have their own opinions and ideas?!), but don't just make something to look exactly the same. Whoever makes the copy should really have a few more brains than to think that people buy the Teklon for it's looks, rather than it's performace...

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Very similar eh.

Stuff like that really isn't on. Be interesting to know the full background of the copy.

·
Registered
11,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In my opinion, what we have are people distributing / supplying rods, that havent done enough to safe-guard their brand. In this case, it looks like Grauvell have gone to some jobbers in the Far East somewhere, and had them to knock out a few rods. Someone else has gone there, asked for the same (perhaps specified a different budget), and got a load of rods too, in a different colour.

My Fishpond pack is available in about 4 or 5 different 'brands' that i've seen - clearly the same pack just in different colours.