The Lure Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
2,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went out this morning with Marq. Water was very coloured & weedy. Conditions were a tad rougher than what we thought they would be, but they were still fishable, just about.

Anyhow this thread aint about catching fish, unfortunately. Its about a lesson learnt for myself. Yep at 38 I'm still learning things that looking back I should really have known better.

A largish wave came in, not one that caused me concern as I was standing a reasonable height above the water. However it took my plug & line & ended up wrapping the line around a clump of mussels about 10 yards to my left, in front of me. Plug stuck, it was not coming out of its own accord.

This was a brand new plug, a sinking Jackson Athlete one just purchased from Ben at AoF. Hence I was quite keen to keep hold of it. The plug was snagged at around water level but when the waves came in it became submerged. I could see it dangling just yards waay from me. 'I know what' I though to myself, 'Marq can hold my rod, I'll run down to the plug in between waves, free the plug & Marq will retrieve the line'

That was the plan put into action. I waited for a big set of waves to go through & made my way down to the plug. The leader was wrapped around the mussels good & proper. It took a lot longer to free than I thought. Trying to free the plug took me longer than I thought. Larger waves were coming in & one took me off the rock upon which I was lying. Into the water I went :-o

Thankfully I was wearing my Snowbee Auto Inflate Jacket & within a second or so of going into the water that went off. I had the plug in my hands but at my first attempt could not get onto the rocks. Luckily I got back on with my second attempt.